Ode to Bukowski


In response to : Writing 201- Ode- apostrophe

 Wordpress thanks for this prompt

For reminding me to dig up my drafts!

This ode is   for Charles Bukowski . Who is one of my favorite poets. His writing is something that changed the definition of poetry for  me. I remember during school and high school we had to read these bunch of “poems”, most of which I found difficult to read. I found them difficult not because they were tough but because they were formed , rhymes rules, stanzas ,blah blah. I found them pretentious! These rules for “proper” poems made me dislike them more,so much so I wouldn’t read it. This is ironic, since I write poems on this blog! And for a long time I refused to acknowledge them as poems.(am getting over it) .Reading Bukowski made me realize poetry isn’t all that bad, it’s not only about rules and rhymes but more to do with expression. He sure has influenced some great authors , I do know that there is a debate of ” that it’s not good writing”. I differ on this. I believe he is one of the poets who liberated poetry. From boredom too!  Yes! There I said it. I find his  poems and writings; gut wrenching,  honest, sly and humorous. They connect – and if that’s not good writing I don’t know what is.

ODE TO BUKOWSKI

Inspired,
At awe
You make me want to  write ,
My worst ,my best

And everything in between

Your saddest words make me smile
And then the others make me laugh
Your thoughts
Splashed across pages
Ring truer than blue

Perfect companion
When hit by the blues.
Reading these words
Is an experience
What’s best is
They abide no “rules”


Similar posts:

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Chrissy says:

    Yes, it does remind me of him. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. S says:

      Thanks Chrissy! I didn’t even think of writing in his style. I guess it turned out that way.. good for me! Thanks for dropping by 😀

      Like

  2. Ameena k.g says:

    Your ode does remind me of Bukowski’s. A mixture of honesty and pure. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. S says:

      Aww thanks for that! You are so very kind. I do have a long way to go 😛

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ameena k.g says:

        Baby steps right?! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

What's in that mind of yours?!

