What does love mean to you?


©
They asked me
What does love mean to you?.
I said nothing.

They stared at me
I knew that expression
I knew what they said behind my back
They thought I was a bitter old hag.

"Really? You don't have anything else to say?" asked the naive 
young nurse
I assured her that I didn't have anything else to say.

What do they want me to say
That it was magical, a fairytale?
No it was not.
Not anymore.

It was nothing.That love.
Not when I lost everyone
Everyone that could matter
My family,my friends
Even the familiar faces I bumped into on the streets

What was left was nothing.
I had lost everything to old age,death and distance
Hospitals,taxes and depression
What was left was me,only me
Old ,wrinkled
Bitter and sick.
The hated patient in this asylum.
What did I have to look forward to? Nothing.

A few years back I could have said what love meant to me
It's something that makes people do stupid things
Great things...
It was hypnotic
It's something to look forward to...

But sometimes it's vile.
Like now.
When all you want is to forget 
Everything.
When you wish you were numb.

Love is opposite of numb.
And that is what I said to them.

©flyingonemptythoughts
3 Comments Add yours

  1. Lucid Gypsy says:

    Emotive and thought provoking writing!

    Like

What's in that mind of yours?!

